Chemo 4.2

Well I have complete my 4th round of chemo with the help of my friend Chris (in picture).  I took this chemo with a friend this time which was scary, I’m such a private person and toletsomeoneoutside of my inner circle took a lot of strength.  I wouldn’t normally allow this but he is someone I would trust with my kids, so I knew I could trust him with this experience. Icantruly say it was fun, we had the whole room talking.  He was such a trooper, he saw me at my weakest and made sure I was safe and the kids were too.
  •  Side affects - you would think by this time I would get use to all the side affects, the answer is NO. My tongue swelled, I have never been so tired - it has lasted for over a week, the itching was horrible  ( Benadryl has been my best friend), taste - my taste buds are so out of wack, I cannot wait to have a drink and it taste normal, I can’t wait to drink lemon water again and not have it taste like metal ( oh how I miss my Yeti cups, they heighten the metallic taste)
  • I turned 42, not really an exciting birthday because I was so freaked out about getting ready for chemo that I couldn’t focus on the day.  My anxiety has gotten awful, haven’t experienced it before but recently it’s gotten to a point my emotions are on overload.  So, I asked my Dr. for something to help ease it.  I promise I don’t want to take another pill but something has to give.  I’ll let you know if it helps the next round.
  • 2 week break - well instead of going every other week, I will be taking an extra week off because I have a pattern of having low counts after a full round of chemo.  I am thankful for the break but bummed at the same time because it pushes my completion date back.  I was really hoping for some bit of summer with my family but I guess I’ll make it up to my family next year or in the fall. 
  • My hair is growing back - I was shocked to see arm pit hair, but at the same time excited. My hair on my head is also coming back in, so unless it starts hurting again I’ll let it come back in.  I can’t wait to feel normal again.
Thanks again for all the support and prayers! We are down to the final 4 or last 2 chemo treatments.